Learning Points — How does counting inform our choices as declarer? December 13, 2012
By Steve Moese Declarer Play Level: Basic/Intermediate

Consider the auction:

You LHO Partner RHO Whatdo we know?
1% Dbl Pass

Count HCP — We should have 25-26 HCP and LHO should have 12-14 HCP. That leaves
2v Pass 4% AP

RHO with 0-3 HCP. We also know that LHP has at least 3 cards in %s (unless they use

the so-called short club showing at least 2-cards).
Partner You

#AQ32 aJ94 Count Length - Without seeing the hands, our jump to 2¥ shows 9-11 HCP and 4+ ¥s.
¥KJ32 YA1094 We might hold 7 HCP if we have extra ¥ length and useful shortness in another suit
¢AQ98 ¢J3 (not #s). All 7-8 HCP must be working — that is be in suits where we have length and
&3 K98 not in opponents’ suits. Partner should have 4+ ¥s and 15-17 HCP. With more,

partner would have made a Cue bid in s.

When dummy hits we count some more: Dummy has 16 HCP and declarer has 9 so we total 15. LHO has 12 (opening
bid) or more so RHO has at most 3 HCP.

LHO leads the 45.

Counting Shape — using the rule of 11 (4™ best leads) 11-5 = 6. There are 6 cards higher than the 45 out. We can see
4 of them, so RHO has only2 cards higher than the #5. Do NOT put in dummy’s #Q. Instead play low, and see what
RHO does. If RHO goes up with the & K, don’t’ worry — that’s the only honor they can have. RHO has to have all the
rest! Counting matters!

Consider the auction:

You LHO Partner RHO Whatdo we know?

1&  Pass Pass
24  Pass 44 AP Count HCP & Shape — LHO has at least 12 HCP and 3s.

You have 15-17 HCP and a good 6-card # suit (A jump in the balancing seat shows a
good suit and a good hand — a hand difficult to be after a simple overcall or double).
RHO has at most 4 HCP. Many respond with 5 HCP. Aggressive players strain to

Dummy Declarer
#)87 #KQ10942

vKi3 vAQ3 respond over a minor suit with an Ace or 2 Qs these days.
49852 *KJ3
&AQ3 &8

Partner must have 10-11 HCP, a good fit for #s and perhaps some values in the & suit,
and likely no biddable suit of their own. There has to be a reason partner did not overcall or double the opening bid.

LHO leads the ¥2, which indicates RHO has 3 higher ¥s. Winning and leading a small # to the 47 won by RHO with
the #A. RHO has no more High Cards. No matter what RHO returns we will lose not more than 24s and 14. We can
finesse in #s with confidence.

Say RHO returns the ¢10. We cover with the ¢J and LHO can now win their Q. If they continue ¢ our K sets up. If
they switch we lead a ¥ to hand, finesse the % K and drop a ¢ loser on the # A. Voila! Counting makes iffy plays into
sure plays.




Here is a classic.
You LHO Partner RHO

1% Pass Pass
24 Pass 4& AP

Dummy Declarer
#)87 4AQ10942

¥K103  vQJ9
49852 +AQ3
SAQ3 &8

We bid to a close game (close games always hone our declarer skill ©). LHO leads the
¥2, and RHO wins the YA.

Count Winners & Losers - We have 3 winners & 4 losers and lots of work to do.
Count HCP — we have 25. RHO has at most 4. LHO has at least 11.

When RHO returns the 43, what do we play and why? RHO Dummy Declarer

cannot have even one more J! Since LHO must have the &K, 4 41094
finessing here is wrong. The only play that makes sense is to win the #A. Either the #K falls v- V-
singleton (it happens) or we will eliminate %s and ¥s before throwing LHO in with the # K (a #9852 *AQ
- -

losing ¢ goes away on the # A). If the trump are 2-2, LHO will have to give us a ¢ trick or a

ruff/sluff. With LHO on lead = with the 4 K, the ¢ loser goes away unless LHO has a 3" trump. Either way we make

our game. You play so nicely!

Ready for another example counting HCP?

You LHO Partner RHO
1v IN' 3w Pass

4v  All Pass
1=15-17 HCP

Dummy Declarer
a87 #AQ10
¥K1074 vQ9632
#K1098 ¢AJ32
»AQ3 &8

The opening lead is the &)J.
Count HCP — Dummy has 12. Declarer has 13. LHO has 15. RHO has 0!!!

Armed with the knowledge that LHO has every remaining honor you can play double
dummy (like an open book). Finesse the #Q. Play the #A pitching the #10. Ruff the
remaining % to eliminate the suit. ¥3 to dummy. If LHO ducks, play the ¥10 to
finesse the ¥J. If LHO wins YA, finesse any return. If LHO mistakenly returns a &, ruff
in dummy and pitch the & Q from hand (eliminating your last # loser). Say LHO wins
the ¥ A and returns the ¥5. Finesse play small from dummy and win cheaply in hand.

Draw the last trump if necessary and play the #8 to the ¢A. Finesse LHO for the #Q. In all you lose 1¥ and maybe 14.
See what counting can do!! (You might object that Dummy should double the INT bid and try to gain a big plus. No
argument — but this is an example for counting HCP, not doubling opponent’s indiscretions, or bad defensive

bidding).

One last HCP Counting example:

You LHO Partner RHO

1e
14 Pass 24'  Pass
44  All Pass

1= Limit Raise or better in &

Dummy Declarer
#)874 #AQ1032

YK872  vI9

4?2 +Q93

&KJ32 &A109
NOT AT ALL!

The opening lead is the ¢4

Count the Lead — Rule of 11 says RHO [the ¢ bidder] has 4 cards higher than the ¢ 4.
RHO might have either a 4-card or 5-card ¢ suit.

Count our HCP — Dummy has 8 (plus 3 Support Points for the singleton ¢). Declarer
has 13. What were we thinking?

Count RHO’s HCP — RHO Cashes the ¢ AK and the YA (Thank you for the favor) in
quick order, then switches to a trump. With 3 losers already, we need the 4 K to be
with RHO too. Duck the # and win cheaply in dummy. Repeat the # finesse until we
capture the # K. Now we have to figure out how to find the # Q. Is it a 2-way guess?

Review LHO’s HCP Count — RHO has shown up with the &K, YA & ¢AK — that’s 14 HCP. Quick — check their
convention card! No fooling — what is their opening 1NT range? If 15-17 then RHO cannot hold the # Q — RHO would
have opened INT instead of 1¢. If it's 12-14, the RHO has to have the # Q because they did NOT open 1NT! And you
thought counting was boring! (Raising to 44 on overcaller’s hand is aggressive. It's good to be kind when giving

feedback!).
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